Metal Messiah

This 1978 movie is about an alien covered in silver body paint that does P.I. work, starts a glam band in an attempt to take over the world and then is crucified.  I think.

My copy of this is pretty bad, but it was woefully low budget in the first place.  Yet, although filmed in dark-o-vision, there are lots of great shots.  Apparently it was Tibor Takács’s first film (who later went on to direct The Gate, I, Madman, and a slew of Sci-Fi Channel TV movies).  It’s overall a pretty fun watch, but it has its shortcomings.  My primary complaint – there are too many words in this movie.  Don’t get me wrong.  I like words.  I’m writing them right now.  But these words aren’t really doing their job.  I wouldn’t call it pretentious, but it’s definitely a little too ambitious for what it was able to deliver.

As I was saying, the first half of the movie is full of the words.  Words that may have had more meaning if I cared to pay more attention to them, but, nah.  HOWEVER, if you stick around for the second half of the movie, it’s all glam rock and orgies.  Way more my speed.

Actually, I enjoyed reading about this film more than I enjoyed watching it.  Here’s some info on the film and on the affiliated Canadian punk bands I had never heard of. And if you’re really curious to see what it’s all about, you can find it on youtube.

~ by velouria78 on January 7, 2012.

3 Responses to “Metal Messiah”

  1. When ya gonna put this shizz on the youtoobs?

  2. Hi! Yeah, I’m too lazy to upload it, but someone else has the whole, nearly unwatchable mess up there. I think it has something like 42 views. Pick it up around part five for the good parts.

Leave a Reply

 
